Skip to content Skip to footer

Kerr And Haaland Win The FWA Footballer Of The Year Awards For 2022/23

Manchester City forward Haaland has enjoyed a record-breaking maiden campaign in English footballer, becoming the all-time single season goalscorer in the Premier League by bagging a ridiculous tally of 35 goals in 32 games thus far.

In scoring 35, Haaland bested Alan Shearer and Andy Cole’s record of 34 single season goals despite the legendary English pair playing 42-game campaigns.

Thanks to this goal tally, Haaland has won the FWA Footballer of the Year award by a landslide margin, collecting 72% of the total votes cast by journalists from up and down the country.

Joining Haaland in the winners’ circle is fellow striker Sam Kerr, who has become the first player to win back-to-back Women’s Footballer of the Year awards thanks to her exploits at Chelsea.

The Australian has scored an impressive 10 WSL goals thus far this season, and bested the likes of Rachel Daly and fellow Chelsea star Lauren James in the voting – bagging twice as many votes as second-place Daly.

The pair are due to receive their awards on Thursday 25 May at the Footballer of the Year awards dinner at the Landmark Hotel in London.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment