Skip to content Skip to footer

Senate Confirms President’s Special Assistant, Lauretta Ifeanyi-Onochie, 12 Others For NDDC Board

On Tuesday, December 20th, 2022, Lauretta Ifeanyi-Onochie, the president’s special assistant on new media, was confirmed by the Senate as the substantive chairman of the board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), despite opposition to her nomination.

Following the examination of the nominations last Friday at the National Assembly complex, the Senate also confirmed 12 additional candidates during the plenary.

President Muhammadu Buhari had asked the Senate to approve the appointment of Lauretta Ifeanyi-Onochie as the substantive Chairman of the Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission, a move which received both praise and criticism in different areas.

In the letter, Buhari also listed 14 other people as Managing Directors, Executive Directors, and Board members.

They include Samuel Ogbokwu, from Bayelsa State, who will serve as the managing director for the remaining two years of his predecessor’s term in office.

Also listed were; Dimgba Erugba, representing Abia State, Dr. Emem Willcox Wills ( Akwa Ibom), Elder Denyanbofa Dimaro (Bayelsa State), Hon. Orok Duke (Cross River) and Dr. Pius Odudu ( Edo State).

Engineer Anthony Ekenne, (Imo State), Hon. Gbenga Edema (Ondo State), Elekwachi Dimkpa (Rivers State), Alhaji Mohammed Kabir Abubakar, ( Nasarawa State, representing North-Cenral zone), Alhaji Sadiq Sami Sule – Ikoh ( Kebbi State, North-West) and Prof. Tahir Mamman SAN, (Adamawa State, North-East).

The President also nominated Major-General Charles Airhiavbere (rtd) from Edo State as the (Executive Director, Finance) and Charles Ogunmola, from Ondo State, as the Executive Director, Projects also made the lists of appointees for the NDDC.


Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment