Skip to content Skip to footer

Rivers Crisis: 27 PDP Lawmakers Defect To APC

As the political crisis rocking the Rivers State House of Assembly intensifies twenty-seven members of the state’s ruling party, the Peoples Democratic Party has defected to the All Progressives Congress throwing the state into more disarray.

The affected lawmakers are said to be the ones loyal to the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike.



The lawmakers, it was gathered held plenary around 8am on Monday where the decision was taken.

The 27 lawmakers were under the leadership of Martin Amaewhule.

For weeks, Amaewhule and another member, Edison Ehie, have been embroiled in a Speakership tussle. Amaewhule is believed to be loyal to ex-governor Nyesom Wike while Ehie is known to be in the camp of Governor Siminalayi Fubara.

The Assembly under Amaewhule had in October served an impeachment notice on the governor and removed Ehie as the House leader.

However, some members of the Assembly loyal to Fubara immediately impeached Amaewhule and his predecessor, Wike, who is now the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Though the two politicians have both attended same public events in the last few weeks and all seemed to have been settled but with Monday’s defection of 27 lawmakers from the PDP to the APC, more drama might unfold in the state’s political arena.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment